SATEC Dust Monitor

The logical response to the challenge of “dust-free seed”

This dust monitor uses photometric technology to analyse dust levels in seed samples continuously drawn from production and sampled immediately upstream of the bagging line. The appliance

  • delivers results which correlate very well with the Heubach values
  • runs automatically “in the background”, using the automatic sampler during seed treatment
  • records the measurement results
  • allows intervention in the control system of the coating machine (e.g. shutdown if maximum limits are exceeded)
  • is able to show even extremely low dust concentrations per kg seed, since the sensitivity of the system can be modified by various adjustable parameters, thus allowing the operator to enter a freely selectable trigger value
  • shows the course of production quality over time, since it generates not only one average value per batch but several partial measurements (the number is freely selectable), stating the exact time in each case
  • can be adapted to virtually any make or brand of coating equipment, thus allowing the measured dust level to be integrated into the data records of the coating machine
  • integrates anywhere in the production system – e.g. for grain seeds it can be installed upstream of the coating machine to determine dust levels before the coating is applied
  • has been approved by the Julius Kühn Institute (the Federal Research Centre for Cultivated Plants).
  • You can download the JKI-Report HERE

Samples are taken continuously by an automatic sampler and collected initially in the storage hopper of the SATEC Dust Monitor.

Satec Dust Monitor

As soon as a specified quantity (level sensor) has been collected inside the hopper, the sample is discharged down a pipe into the final sample collection container, from which the average sample is subsequently taken. The dust level of the falling seeds is measured photometrically, the measurements being recorded once per second and plotted immediately on a curve. In this way any number of measurement points are recorded and evaluated for each batch, and their maximum values are displayed. This ensures that seed quality is monitored over the whole time of production.

The SATEC Dust Monitor:

  • ensures maximum certainty already at the production stage
  • minimises the risk of faulty batches, and
  • eases the increased responsibility of the staff

 

 

Dust measurement with the SATEC Dust Monitor can naturally be carried out for purposes other than seed treatment, e.g. in the laboratory or for testing returns and overstock merchandise; it can be used for monitoring dust levels not only in any type of seed sample but also in a wide variety of bulk goods.

  • Data are stored on a USB stick and/or online in the formulation records of the coating equipment control system.
  • Monitoring parameters are shown directly on the equipment or on the coating machine display.
  • Any kind of acoustic or visual alarm unit can be connected.

Reasons behind the development of a measuring appliance for monitoring dust contamination on seeds

Directive 2010/21/EU of 12 March 2010 stipulates that, as from 1 November 2010, seed treatments containing clothianidin, imidacloprid, thiamethoxam and fipronil may be used only in seed treatment facilities which apply the best available techniques to ensure that the release of dust during seed treatment and right up to the time of sowing is kept to an absolute minimum.

At the present time, dust levels are quantified by means of the Heubach test. This test is prescribed by the Federal Office for Consumer Protection and Food Safety (BVL) for maize seed treated with mesurol and used for quality control in rapeseed. The introduction of Heubach levels is also being considered for cereals.

The higher the seed rate, the lower the Heubach value must be in order to ensure that a specific dust level per hectare is not exceeded. The purpose of the limit values is to ensure that dust-off from seeds is so low that no environmental contamination can occur.

If dust contamination from the seed exceeds the limit value as defined by the Heubach value, the seed cannot be placed on the market.

Unfortunately, the results of the Heubach test are not available until at least two days after applying the treatment, which means that, during this time, there is no evidence that the seed is free of dust.

All necessary measures taken to achieve dust control present a considerable burden for seed producers in terms of both costs and human resources.
In addition, they place increasing responsibility on the staff, since even if no badly treated seed is placed on the market, the financial implications of producing a batch which fails to comply with the Heubach criterion would be enormous.

To minimise the risk of faulty coating, SATEC Handelsgesellschaft has been researching various options that will allow seed producers to read off the expected level of dust contamination during the seed treatment process itself.
After more than one year of development, we are now in a position to present a system which minimises the risk of faulty seed treatment, thus providing an excellent basis for obtaining a certification of the seed treatment facility: the SATEC Dust Monitor.

With the SATEC Dust Monitor it is possible already at the production stage to see in advance what the subsequent Heubach test (if required) will show:
– that the coated seed is virtually dust-free and can be placed on the market
A certification of the coating machines will doubtless be of very much greater value if this online dust measurement is available, since it will provide direct evidence not only that the technical and organisational conditions are fulfilled, but also that the dust level will not exceed the Heubach value.

The dust levels of cereal seeds immediately after threshing can vary greatly from one year to another, depending on weather conditions.

New dust is formed during transport of any kind (e.g. on the elevator).

Maximum freedom from dust for coated seed can be achieved only if the seed itself is as free as possible from dust immediately before the coating is applied.

To ensure that the seed meets these requirements, its “freedom from dust” is checked with the SATEC Dust Monitor – during the course of production. The values are stored, thus making it possible at all times to verify that only dust-free seed was coated.

All tests up to now have shown that dust-free seed remains dust-free after the coating has been applied.

SATEC Dust Monitor during the coating of cereals

  • Variations in the dust levels are detected and can be corrected before coating takes place.
  • Production processes are safeguarded.

Proof of quality can be retrieved at any time.

SATEC Dust Monitor

Die konsequente Antwort auf die Herausforderung „Staubfreiheit“.

Dieses Staubmessgerät unterwirft eine fortlaufend gezogene Probe schon während der Produktion unmittelbar vor der Absackung einer photometrischen Staubigkeitsmessung.

  • liefert Ergebnisse mit einer sehr guten Korrelation zu den Heubach-Werten
  • läuft automatisch – quasi nebenbei – und nutzt dabei den automatischen Probenehmer während der Beizung
  • protokolliert die Messergebnisse
  • ermöglicht den Eingriff in die Steuerung der Beizanlage (z. B. Abschaltung bei Grenzwertüberschreitung)
  • kann auch geringste Staubmengen pro kg Saatgut darstellen, da mittels verschiedener Einstellparameter die Empfindlichkeit des Systems geändert werden kann und ein frei wählbarer Alarmwert einstellbar ist
  • kann die zeitliche Entwicklung der Produktionsqualität darstellen, da nicht nur ein Durchschnittswert pro Partie generiert wird, sondern mehrere Teilmessungen (Anzahl beliebig wählbar) mit Angabe der Uhrzeit vorgenommen werden
  • kann an Beizmaschinen nahezu aller Hersteller adaptiert werden und  ermöglicht somit die Integration des Staubwertes in die Protokollierung der Beizanlage
  • kann überall, wo es sinnvoll ist, in die Produktionsanlage integriert werden – z.B. bei der Getreidebeizung zur Ermittlung der Staubfreiheit vor der Beizung
  • ist vom Julius-Kühn-Institut anerkannt
  • den Prüfbericht können Sie HIER herunterladen

Das über den automatischen Probenehmer fortlaufend gezogene Muster wird zunächst im Vorratstrichter des SATEC Dust Monitor gesammelt.

Satec Dust Monitor

Bei Erreichung einer Sollmenge (Vollmelder) wird es durch ein Fallrohr in den endgültigen Probensammelbehälter geleitet, aus dem später das Durchschnittsmuster entsteht. Während des Falls erfolgt die photometrische Staubmessung, wobei sekündlich der Messwert protokolliert und als Kurve sofort sichtbar dargestellt wird. Pro Partie werden so beliebig viele Messpunkte protokolliert und ausgewertet, inklusive der Darstellung von Maximalwerten. Somit ist die Qualitätsüberwachung des Saatgutes während der gesamten Produktionszeit gewährleistet.

Der SATEC Dust Monitor:

  • gewährt maximale Sicherheit schon während der Produktion
  • minimiert das Risiko von Fehlproduktionen
  • und entlastet die Mitarbeiter von ihrer erhöhten Verantwortung

 

 

Die Staubmessung mit dem SATEC Dust Monitor ist selbstverständlich auch außerhalb des Beizbetriebes, z.B. im Labor oder zur Testung von Rücklieferungen oder Überlagerware möglich, von der „Staubigkeitsuntersuchung“ jeder beliebigen Saatgutprobe bis hin zu verschiedensten anderen Schüttgütern.

  • Daten werden auf USB-Stick und/oder online in den Rezepturprotokollen der Steuerung der Beizanlage gespeichert
  • Anzeige von Verlaufswerten direkt am Gerät oder am Display der Beizanlage
  • beliebige akustische/optische Warnsignalgeber anschließbar

Motivation für die Entwicklung eines Messgerätes zur Kontrolle der Staubbeladung von Saatgut.

Die Richtlinie 2010/21/EU vom 12. März 2010 schreibt vor, dass Beizmittel mit den Wirkstoffen Chlothianidin, Imidacloprid, Thiamethoxam und Fipronil seit 1. November 2010 nur in solchen Saatgutbehandlungseinrichtungen eingesetzt werden dürfen, welche die beste zur Verfügung stehende Technik nutzen, um sicher zu stellen, dass das Saatgut – bis hin zur Aussaat- weitestgehend staubfrei ist.

Diese Staubfreiheit wird momentan mit dem Heubach-Test nachgewiesen. Dieser Test ist für mit Mesurol gebeiztes Maissaatgut vom BVL vorgeschrieben ist und wird bei Rapssaatgut zur Qualitätskontrolle eingesetzt. Auch für Getreide wird über die Einführung von Heubach-Grenzwerten nachgedacht.

Je höher die Aussaatstärke ist, desto geringer muss der Heubach-Staubwert des Saatgutes sein, um eine bestimmte Menge an Staub pro ha nicht zu überschreiten. Die Grenzwerte sollen gewährleisten, dass die mögliche Staubbeladung des Saatgutes so gering ist, dass eine Belastung der Umwelt nicht mehr gegeben ist.

Wird der Heubach-Grenzwert überschritten, so ist das Saatgut nicht verkehrsfähig.

Leider liegt das Ergebnis des Heubach-Tests im günstigsten Fall erst zwei Tage nach der Beizung vor, so dass während dieser Zeit die Staubfreiheit des produzierten Saatgutes nicht nachgewiesen ist.

Die erforderlichen Maßnahmen zur Erzielung der Staubfreiheit stellen eine erhebliche personelle und nicht zuletzt finanzielle Belastung der Saatgutproduzenten dar.

Hinzu kommt der immer höhere Verantwortungsdruck auf den Mitarbeitern, denn auch wenn kein schlecht gebeiztes Saatgut in den Markt geht, so wären die finanziellen Schäden einer möglichen Fehlbeizung bzgl. des Heubach-Wertes doch enorm.

Um das Risiko einer solchen Fehlbeizung zu minimieren, arbeitet SATEC an verschiedenen Möglichkeiten, schon während der Saatgutproduktion einen Messwert für die zu erwartende „Staubigkeit“ des Saatgutes zu bestimmen.

Nach mehr als einjähriger Entwicklungsarbeit konnte nun ein System vorgestellt werden, das eine Minimierung des „Fehlbeizungsrisikos“ verspricht und eine sehr gute Grundlage für eine Zertifizierung der Beizstelle bringt: den SATEC Dust Monitor.

Mit dem SATEC Dust Monitor kann schon während der Produktion prognostiziert werden, was der spätere Heubach-Test, sofern erforderlich, beweist:

– verkehrsfähiges, weitestgehend staubfrei gebeiztes Saatgut.

Eine Zertifizierung der Beizanlagen dürfte erheblich werthaltiger sein, wenn diese Online – Staubmessung vorhanden ist, denn es wird direkt bewiesen, dass der Heubachwert eingehalten werden wird – nicht nur, dass die technischen und organisatorischen Voraussetzungen gegeben sind.

Die Staubigkeit  von Getreidesaatgut direkt nach dem Drusch kann von Jahr zu Jahr stark schwanken – je nach Witterungsverlauf.

Jeder Saatguttransport (z.B. Elevator) führt zu erneuter Staubbildung.

Das Optimum an Staubfreiheit des gebeizten Saatgutes lässt sich nur erreichen, wenn das Saatgut unmittelbar vor dem Beizmittelauftrag eine optimale Staubfreiheit besitzt.

Um sicherzustellen, dass das Saatgut diesen Anforderungen entspricht, wird die „Staubfreiheit“ mit dem SATEC Dust Monitor überprüft – während der Produktion. Die Werte werden gespeichert und es jederzeit nachweisbar, dass nur staubfreies Saatgut gebeizt wurde.

Alle bisherigen Untersuchungen zeigen, dass staubfreies Saatgut auch nach der Beizung staubfrei ist.

Satec  Dust Monitor in der Getreidebeizung

  • Schwankungen in der Staubigkeit werden erkannt und können vor der Beizung korrigiert werden
  • Produktionsabläufe werden abgesichert

ein Qualitätsnachweis ist jederzeit abrufbar